We protect your communications through MyChart by using the best online security technology. Messages you receive by your regular email will never contain confidential medical information - they will only notify you of new messages in your MyChart inbox.
To support security and confidentiality, MyChart will log you out after 20 minutes of nonuse. This feature ensures that your information is not left on the screen if you leave your computer. If your MyChart session automatically logs you out, simply log in again.
Fairview Health Services and Fairview Physician Associates use electronic record systems and believe that they are an important part of improving the quality and safety of the care we give. Physicians, authorized practitioners and authorized members of our workforce use these systems so that they have the information needed to treat you. Policies, processes and technical protections are in place to keep your information from being seen by anyone that should not see it. Our policies and processes conform to state and federal law and are designed to safeguard your privacy. Our staff are educated in confidentiality and the appropriate use of medical information.
MyChart is an Internet application that enables a patient to have secured web-based access to portions of their electronic medical record and allows secure messaging with your provider or clinic. Messages you send via MyChart will be made part of your permanent medical record. They will be accessible to current and future staff members who are involved in your care.
All communications between you and your clinic health care team using MyChart are carried over a secure, encrypted connection directly into the electronic medical record. While you may receive Internet e-mail messages notifying you of new messages in your MyChart Inbox, these e-mails will never contain any confidential medical information. All medical record information and MyChart messages securely reside behind information systems firewalls.
When you initially enroll to use MyChart, you will be provided with an access code. It is extremely important that you keep your MyChart access code, login name and password completely confidential from anyone. If your access code and password is available to others, they will be able to view your medical information and communicate with your clinic as if they were you. It is your responsibility to prevent disclosure of your access code and to change your password if you feel your security has been compromised. You can change your password on-line at any time.Return to Top